Tan, Twan Eng

The Garden of Evening Mists by Tan Twan Eng

The Garden of Evening Mists is the second book by Malaysian author Tan Twan Eng. It’s the winner of the Man Asian Literary Prize 2012, shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2012, and the winner for Walter Scott Prize for historical fiction 2013. Tan’s first book The Gift of Rain was longlisted for the Booker […]

Endo, Shusaku

Silence by Shusaku Endo

Silence is a historical novel by Shusaku Endo, a Catholic Japanese, making his perspective unique in the country that primarily practice Shinto and Buddhism. There’s historical note at the beginning of the book, giving the frame of the story: Christianity was first introduced to Japan by Francis Xavier and his colleagues in 1549. For the […]

Robinson, Marilynne

Housekeeping – Marilynne Robinson

Housekeeping — Marilynne Robinson’s first book, was the last book I read for my Penguin online writing class. It was published in 1980, won a few awards, including nomination for the Pulitzer. Her subsequent novels Gilead and Home won even more awards, so it’s pretty clear that Robinson is high up there in the panel […]


The Classics Club and the Importance of Reading Chair

It’s almost new year and thanks to my new reading chair my reading has been going incredibly well, so I feel confident to embark on a new project with The Classics Club: 50 Classics in 5 Years! Mr Mee and I moved house about 2 months ago, and we’ve been unpacking things very very slowly. […]