Categories
challenge

Book Awards Challenge III

bookawards3

1 July 2009 – 1 December 2009

5 months. 5 awards.

Book Awards Challenge III has started and I’m on my way with the first book. Woohoo! This time I’m also going to count nominees (longlist or shortlist) so it might help me to knock down my personal challenges with Booker, Orange, or Pulitzer prizes. But I haven’t decided what to read yet, so it could be from completely different award lists.

Books I read:

  1. Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides (finished 08/09, 5 stars)
    2003 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, 2003 James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Fiction (nominee)
  2. Burnt Shadows by Kamila Shamsie (finished 08/09, 3 stars)
    2009 Orange Prize for Fiction (shortlist)
  3. Snakes and Earrings by Hitomi Kanehara (finished 08/09, 3 stars)
    2003 Akutagawa Prize
  4. Strangers by Taichi Yamada (finished 09/09, 2.5 stars)
    1987 Yamamoto Shūgorō Prize
  5. American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang (finished 10/09, 4 stars)
    2007 Printz, 2007 Eisner – Best New Graphic Album, finalist for 2006 National Book Award

July/August reviews | Sep/Oct/Nov reviews

By mee

Blog about travel, culture, lifestyle and books from London at http://www.wanderingmee.com and http://www.meexia.com/bookie

7 replies on “Book Awards Challenge III”

I’m still reading. Thanks for asking Suko. I haven’t been posting for a while, have I?!

Leave a comment